My husbands extramarital affair

Please pray for my husband who is in the mist of an extramarital affair and wants a divorce. We have been married for 26 years. We as a couple never believed in divorce and I have been praying for approximately two years to save our marriage, nothing seems to be working. I thought we had a good marriage before all this started. I don’t know what to do anymore. Our trial for the divorce is November 18, 2005. We have not been able to communicate for almost a year now.

We are praying for a miracle for you and your husband. With God, nothing is impossible.

Wow. I will pray for you and your husband. I am sorry for your pain and this trial you are bearing.

Welcome to the board, Loris, even though your first post has to be a hard one for you.

Are both of you Catholic? Has your husband talked this over with your priest and does he understand the consequences to himself, to you and your family? Or has he turned a blind eye to everything except his supposed “new love”?

I want to believe your marriage can be saved and by God’s grace it can be. But, don’t let that keep you from getting what is rightfully yours and your children’s, if you have any. Get a good lawyer, if you haven’t already, to protect your rights and to keep you from having future trouble with your finances.

I’m so sorry this happened to you and your family. You will be in my prayers.

Loris, I am sorry to miss saying this on my last post, but I had a flashback to a similar situation and my heart really goes out to you.

Anyway, Della is right. Make sure you do not compound your situation by failing to protect yourself financially. I know it seems to pale in comparison to the rest of the problems, but later on down teh line you will be glad you did.

My dad walked out on my mom after 40 years. No one even knew there was another woman until he called me and told me he was heading out and that I better go check on my mom. I was the lucky one that got to break the news to her.