My role in answered prayers?

Hey guys,

There are a few things I’ve been praying about for a few years but have yet to see them pass. I’m sure they will happen but unsure if I need to do something about it.

For example, I’ve prayed for a few of my friends who weren’t raised in faith and am curious whether it’s the Holy Spirit’s job to direct them or if I should say something to them.

Basically, I’m not sure of my role when I ask something in prayer. Should I let God do his work or should I take steps to move forward?

Thanks for any advice you can give!

It is the role of the laity to evangelize. However, we have to be prayerful and prudent about how we do that. Sometimes in our zeal to “convert” a friend or loved one, we may come on too strong too soon, and end up driving that person away.

An approach I learned in Cursillo was to “make a friend, be a friend, bring a friend to Christ” — in that order. In other words, normally we need to earn a person’s trust and treat them with Christ’s love before we have the “right” to have them listen to us in matters of faith.

Another useful idea is to follow the Holy Spirit’s lead. There have been times when I was not sure it was the “right” time to broach a religious subject. I would pray to the Holy Spirit, asking Him to let me follow His lead, to let me know whether it was time to speak or remain silent. I would ask Him to allow me to be His instrument, and if He desired that I speak directly to a person, that He give me a clear opening/opportunity to do so. And sometimes that did happen — for example, I was given a few moments of privacy with that person (when we had been previously surrounded by others), or the conversation steered itself in the right direction without a lot of effort on my part.

So there are times to let the Holy Spirit do the work, and times to move forward. It’s a matter of prayerful discernment and sensitivity to how receptive your friend might be.