My situation with RCIA

Good Evening Folks,

I've been in the RCIA process since March including the Inquiry period.

I was baptized in 2011 at the Baptist church I was attending and I've been faithfully attending church for the last 3-4 years (as well being brought up in church...I'm 26). I've studied the word of god and I've prayed a lot about my spiritual journey and I believe God wants me in the Catholic church. I feel very ready to join the church but I have to go through the process and wait until the Easter Vigil. I studied the Catholic faith intensively prior to joining the RCIA group and I have no objections or questions about the faith that are holding me back.

I feel ready but it seems as though the process at our parish is set in stone...everyone goes through the process and everyone get their sacraments at the Easter Vigil.

I love the group and I love sharing and discussing the topics with the other participants but I'm really yearning for the holy Eucharist and confession. I pray for special intentions during communion but it's hard not being able to receive. I attend 3 masses per weekend and I'd love nothing more than to partake in the blessed sacrament.

Should I approach my parish priest and see if he thinks I need to continue through the RCIA process? I don't want to offend the group facilitator but I really don't want to wait another 6 months either.

I would really appreciate some advice on the best way to handle this situation.

Thank You,

EP.

While the Rite does say that baptized Christians need not go through the entire RCIA process and wait until the Easter Vigil to be received into the Church, my experience is that that is the practice at many parishes. You would not be out of line to raise the question politely but you might start with your RCIA facilitator first if you have not done so before approaching the pastor. That would avoid the awkward appearance of going over his/her head.