National Right to Life will score U.S. Senate vote on Democrats’ constitutional amendment to curb political speech

The proposal would “empower incumbent federal and state lawmakers to restrict and criminalize speech that is critical of their actions,” NRLC warns in letter to senators

nationalrighttolifenews.org/news/2014/09/national-right-to-life-will-score-u-s-senate-vote-on-democrats-constitutional-amendment-to-curb-political-speech/

I don’t yet know of any other sources for this article but if anyone knows of any and wants to share them, feel free to do so.

In my opinion, this is a serious attack on our freedom of speech.

I’m not sure I understand the objecion. The resolution seems to be about campaign finance but I’m not all that great at reading legal stuff.

beta.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/senate-joint-resolution/19/text

I am not good at reading legal stuff either. The link you posted seems to indicate that this has to do with campaign finance and not political speech unless campaign finances can somehow be considered to be political speech.

I hope someone can come on here and explain why the National Right to Life is concerned about this.

All of those tags confuse me. I’m sure there is something to it though, NRLC is hardly an extremist group that’ll try and mislead people.

Campaign finance IS political speech, and is at or near the top of the list of MOST IMPORTANT political speech.

Here is a version that replaces the tags with the actual formatting.