NATO expansion and provoking Russia

As many know there was a NATO meeting summit, and they decided not to expand NATO into Ukraine and Georgia (for now, but will in the future)

I’m really concerned about NATO expansion. While I’m not an expert, I have studied some Russian history, and so I know that the Russians are paraniod about their borders. They keep on telling us that they will regard it as a direct threat, but I don’t think people are taking Russia seriously.

The whole thing upsets me because I believe that it was the NATO expansions and the color revolutions etc, that are really hurting Russias’ push to democracy. Because if Russiasn feel threatened well.

I’m just very concerned. I don’t understand why we feel the need to make our relationship worse with Russia, when I think the relationship is capable of being better. Thankfully countries like Germany had the smarts to say no to expanding NATO.

theaustralian.news.com.au…-26040,00.html

I don’t know much about the situation. How does it look from Ukraine or Georgia’s perspective? Would being in NATO help them?

Russia is hurting russia’s push to democracy, not NATO expansion. If Russia don’t like the expansion, let them reinstitute the WARSAW PACT…oh, yeah, that’s right, NO ONE WANTS THE WARSAW PACT.

US Foriegn Policy and NATO policy CAN NOT be dictated by the whims of a former KGB head. Russia isn’t paranoid…PUTIN is parandoid.

Not really, except to poke Russia in the eye. Given how paranoid the Russians are, not a good idea.

Why is there still a NATO, anyway? The reason for NATO was the threat from the USSR.
Now, looking at the world from Moscow you see that your former glory has gone down the drain; you’re rebounding economically but you still have huge problems even there. Militarily your former Warsaw Pact countries have joined NATO and George Bush wants to sign up the last buffers, Georgia & Ukraine.
What the hell are the Russians supposed to think?