Natural law and abortion

I asked in a previous post if stating “That which is contrary to natural law is any action that directs a subject away from the object of its highest good” is a correct summary of some of the reading I’ve been doing in philosophy on ethics, natural law, and the highest good. I was agreed upon there that it was.

One of the primary reasons I finally got around to reading further into some of this was that I hoped to be able to articulate an argument against abortion based on how it is contrary to the natural law.
Assuming those who are aborted (or martyred, etc.) go to Heaven upon being killed and attain the Highest Good of humanity: happiness and God, then, based on the statement “That which is contrary to natural law is any action that directs a subject away from the object of its highest good,” why is abortion contrary to the natural law?

I realize it also directs those doing the abortion away from the highest good, but I’m very new to philosophy and would like to understand the basic “hows” and “whys.”

I appreciate any and all help. Thanks and God bless!

Because ends do not justify the means. For them to reach heaven meant someone else committing a grave sin, ie. killing.

You’re forgetting that the onus is on the subject and not the object. The abortionist commits the sin and is thus deprived of achieving the greatest good.

Another classic defense against abortion is that it violates a child’s right to life. Life is sacred, so violating it violates the natural law. Also look at the negative right of non-interference. It’s hard to see one can be committed to these principles and not deny that abortion is unjust.