Need a different point of view to be a better person

I have a very easy time feeling inadequate in the areas in which I am weak. I am not well-rounded mechanically and am horrible at basic household repairs. This of course, leads to easy frustration. I am not a skilled professional, my job is very basic. I really cannot afford to hire anyone, so when I do it myself, watch out, because I’m miserable when I mess up. I know the main problem is my pride. Concerned about what others are thinking, I add fuel to the fire. I have physical limitations that prevent me from accomplishing things in a timely manner that often puts projects on hold. It drives me nuts when added to not knowing what I’m doing! How do I get over this? I don’t want to use my limitations as an excuse, but I beat myself up when I cannot perform at the same level as others. How do I get over these assumed opinions of what others may think? I feel like I’m always a step behind my neighbors and family. I am a hard worker when it comes to things I have confidence in doing, but nothing causes me more frustration when I try to take on new projects and mess up. It’s one thing for me when I read up on how to do something, and quite another when it comes to doing it. This re-occuring problem puts a hamper on my ability to love myself and others. Do I accept myself as I am? Is it worth it to hire others? How do I love in difficult moments? What do you recommend?

You sound like me. I get upset with myself when I can’t do things I’d really like to do, as well.

The great Catholic writer, G. K. Chesterton once wrote: “Anything worth doing, is worth doing badly.” What he was referring to was singing lullabyes to children or constructing play theaters or painting for one’s own amusement. Not everything has to be perfect according to professional standards since most of us aren’t professionals at much of anything, not even professionals. :slight_smile: