NEED HELP! anyone know Texas Law?

my sister has a baby that is now 2 years and 6 months old. The father is a drug addict who has never attempted to have anything to do with the baby. This morning she got a message stating that he has filed papers for paternity rights. What can we do to make his stay away, to sever his rights? I cant find anything on google about Texas law. This man is an absolute threat and has made it clear that he will run with the baby if he gets the chance. What can we do?!?!:frowning:

I’m no lawyer but I’d look into what the texas laws are reguarding abandonment by the father.

My daughter was born in Texas and to get her passport on only my signature I had to include letters from people who have known us as long as she’s been alive that they have never seen her father or heard that he was around. This proved to the passport office that he had “Abandoned his rights” but the passport office won’t have the exact same rules as Texas Law. Still it might be a starting place of what to look for.

I would also make sure all the knowledge of his being a drug addict and all threats he has made are documented.

Get an attorney IMMEDIATELY!!! A lawyer in family law practice will tell you exactly what your options are and help you take necessary actions (including possibly a restraining order if the father is dangerous to you or your child) without delay.

I will hold you in my prayers. Now get a lawyer. Now!

Gertie
:gopray:
Nada te turbe, nada te espante. Todo se pasa. Dios no se muda.
Let nothing disturb you, let nothing frighten you. All things pass away. God never changes. (St. Teresa of Avila)

Do NOT try and handle this yourself with Google or via advice from non-professionals on an anonymous forum.