Need help understanding vanity

so growing up, I was always taught that plastic surgery and tattoos were sinful, our catechism teacher said this at a retreat, and a religious congregation I was helping out also said this. because we’re the temple of the holy spirit

but I’m confused, we do other things to our appearances, such as make-up, jewelry, dying our hair, etc…

I’m not really a proponent of plastic surgery but I understand the use for medical purposes. but most people criticize nose jobs or such things, if a person is simply not happy with the way they look

or what if someone wanted to get a tattoo of a crucifix to remind themselves of their faith? arguments are that we are trying to improve on god’s design by adding something that’s not naturally there or that it’s self-mutilation. but getting your ears pierces would also be considered self-mutilation as well. I’m obviously not talking about immoral tattoos or things that are just a bad idea, like you’re girlfriend’s name or something like that

plus these procedures tend to be pretty expensive

I do know that in the writings of the saints, there are certain ones who did criticize the use of make-up, hair dye and jewelry as vanity as well and that it was sin. even if clothes were too fancy and certain colours that stood out too much

I also realize now that there is no official teaching of the church against any of these things

any advice would help. especially ones with concrete examples

I am sorry that you were taught something that is not true.

Plastic surgery can be wrong. It depends on the purpose-- such as correcting a defect or even helping someone with depression or other issues. I can become problematic, yes, like anything else done to excess or for morally problematic reasons. The virtues of temperance and prudence would be in play here.

Tattoos are not even mentioned in Church teaching, so I don’t know where they got that idea.