Need Some Help- Children Asking Questions

Hello,

I am a catechist at my local parish. I am a university student and I have no kids of my own (unmarried).

I was teaching this morning and my hour with the kids was... well someone might have taken something away from it... oh, who am I kidding? It was a disaster!

I started out finding out that the other catechist who shares the position with me was away. I was supposed to lead this week so I was ready but we still have a class of 23 and I am not yet a teacher. It is hard to supervise 23 kids.

So first I notice that two boys who were told to split up by my co-catechist last week were sitting together. Not wanting to seem undisciplined, I reminded them, and two moved to the front of the room.

From that moment on, I was constantly interrupted to answer questions about...Q: "how do we know that Jesus was God and that he really preformed miracles and lived?" Me: :eek: A: "The Church and the Bible tell us. They are historically accurate" Q: "How do we know?" (I'm supposed to whip out proof of their accuracy?) "Well I don't have the documents here" I explained. "But I assure you they exist"

I also asked why such questions were being asked: "who here doesn't believe?" I thought I could pinpoint who needed help to understand. About a quarter of the class (all male) raised their hands. "Why don't you believe?" "Well you can't prove it"

I also got Q: "Jesus doesn't make sense. How could God(Father) send God(Son) to earth using God(Holy Spirit)?" A: "The immaculate conception is not something we can explain scientifically. Some of your questions don't have answers! The best scientists in the world can't explain it!" I even had to explain the Trinity ("Wait... One God in two people" "No. one God in Three people") We covered the Trinity (A whole hour) less than a month ago.