Needing advice and support

I am hoping there is someone out there who is or has been in a similar situation because right now I feel really alone. Six years ago I converted to Catholicism. I was raised a Southern Baptist and my conversion really upset my family. I have been attending church and practicing my faith alone for six years. About a year and a half ago, I met a wonderful man, fell in love and am now engaged. He would have to receive an annulment before we could get married with the church’s blessing. However because he was raised Protestant as I was, he does not see why it is necessary. We have talked about this issue in length and I have tried to explain the process and why the church requires it as best as I can. I feel guilty and embarrased that I have to ask him to do this. I know the annulment process is difficult because I have been through it myself when I joined the church. In fact because my family was so against my conversion, my process was extremely difficult and painful. Even though I love the Catholic faith, my conversion has been painful and lonely. Now it seems to be causing me more pain. I have considered many options: calling off the engagement, leaving the church, marrying anyway and using the internal forum as a solution. ( My reason for this is because my fiance’s wife left him for another man. I know that in scripture Jesus gave adultery as a valid reason for divorce.) Anyway, I hope there is someone who can give some loving advice or support. Please, I don’t need any preaching, I already feel enough guilt and pain.