neurology...

a heresy i am particualily scared of is the heresy that there is no soul and thta everything we think of and our memory and stuff is just from our brains and nothing more. many neurologists have been discovering more and more evidence of everything we think about is just from our brain, this seems to push the soul out, i dont want to stop believing in God’s gift to us, can anyone give me advice on keeping this belief strong?

One of the insights that the Catholic Church retains, one which some of our separated bretheren have lost to varying degrees, is the intrinsic goodness of matter. This includes the matter in our own bodies, Jesus Himself, fully human, had a body just as we have now (and now has a glorified body which we will, by His grace, someday have ourselves).

There is nothing in the findings of neurology that, to me, suggests that there’s a basis to eliminate even the concept of God – and I’m a life scientist myself. Fine, one could hook up electrodes on the surface of the head, and measure a moment of “inspiration.” But the mere detection of neural activity would not therefore imply that we have found the source of the inspiration, just it’s manifestation in the matter that is part and parcel of our being.

When the Lord sought to give us His ultimate gift, His Body and Blood in the Holy Eucharist, he used matter – bread and wine. When he wants to enter our thoughts, it is not at all inconsistent that he uses the matter in our minds.

Also, be careful of segregating the body and the soul into separated entities. Together they form man and woman. The idea that somehow the spirit soul is caged in a matter body is gnostic, not Christian.

Blessings,

Gerry

Body and soul comprise a unity. But the soul in its essence is non-material, (i.e. it is a spirit) which is why it can survive even being ripped apart from the body, which is death.