New children's choir director

Hello all, I am not sure if this is the perfect place for this, but we’ll see.

I just got hired on (I’m funny, I say “hired” as if a volunteer could be “hired” :)) as a children’s choir director at our local catholic school. The ages are 5th-8th grade, and I am fresh out of college with a music degree in hand. I have never had a choir to direct before, and the people at the school have demands (it’s a good thing!!) for the choir. They (and the children) really want to do harmonization music and whatnot. Thus far it seems all they do is a basic “sing-a-long” of the songs in the missal. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get these kids ready to sing harder stuff? Know of any online resources for making choir fun for kids of that age range? Any resources for music for kids that age? Useful tips? I am BRAND new at working with kids, so anything would be a huge help. I love kids and I want to give them the best of my abilities. Oh, and a real sincher is that we only meet for a half hour once a week :hypno:

Thanks all!

You might try starting them singing ‘rounds’ which gets them used to hearing their own ‘part’ against another part. A good round would be Dona Nobis Pacem (not hard to teach them the Latin, it’s just Dona Nobis Pacem throughout). It would sound good at Mass and not take too much effort.

I was thinking about rounds. Do you know where I could fnd music for that??

God bless you for this ministry. I fondly remember participating in children’s choir in my Catholic school, beginning right after 1st communion, and we learned the various Mass parts in Gregorian chant, so it can be done, as well as traditional latin and English hymns.