New here and have a question

Hi I am new. And I have a question I am 21 and am planning on going to college. I am not sure what I want to major in plus I need to get a car. I have thought about waiting to start college in the fall of 09 so I can work get a car. But that would put me graduating at age 26. Would that be to old? Would it be bad to put it off a year?

Welcome,

I think there’s nothing wrong with waiting a year and working to save up money. You could also take some basics at a community or junior college – there courses will transfer to any four-year university and they’re generally cheaper to attend and they usually offer night classes.

Paula

Will I be looked at as strange for graduating at age 26?

Absolutely not!!! I was 24. When I graduated high school, I went for a year to the local college and got some basics out of the way while living at home. I then went to a junior college and got a degree (associates) in court reporting. It was only supposed to take two years but it ended up taking me four BUT I worked full time and mostly put myself through school, with a little help from my parents.

If you can do it slow and work your way through and get out with little or no student loan debt, you’ll be so far ahead of the game when you do graduate.

Paula

I agree with all of the other posters. Please don’t let concerns over age stop you from pursuing your education goals!

I went to a relatively small Catholic University, and the majority of the students were my age, but I don’t recall anyone treating the older students differently. There was a 60 year old man in my class, which is always kind of interesting to me. I respected him for going to college at his age, when many of his own friends were probably looking at retirement!

I would think that if you attended a larger school, you’d find older students. You can always ask if the colleges you are interested in offer any support organizations for the older/non-traditional student.