New Mass Settings from MusicaSacra

The links are live now! :smiley:

Here are the settings for the new translations as posted on MusicaSacra’s website:

musicasacra.com/ordinary/

Just scroll to the bottom. The links work. There are two or thre complete Mass settings and the rest are a la carte. The only caveat is that the MP3 links don’t work just yet. But, nonetheless, enjoy! :thumbsup:

Are these available with piano accompaniments, or at least with a piano melody line? How do people learn this? Is it available for choirs and musicians who don’t have any background in this kind of music whatsoever? Is the congregation expected to join in?

I took a look, but I had absolutely no clue what I was looking at. And I’m a trained classical pianist with many years of accompanying experience.

And I took a listen, and it all sounded alike to me, very droning and amelodic. This is really tough stuff for Western ears that are used to melody and regular meter. I know the Mass is not all about me and my preferences, but honestly, I don’t know how much of that kind of music I could take, especially when sung by untrained musicians. I honestly think that this could drive people away from Catholic Mass in the U.S… Sorry.

Here is what ICEL has released:

icelweb.org/musicfolder/openmusic.php

A priest friend of mine tried out the settings and he found them to be singable and easy for the faithful to learn. He said that they made his day and he is anxious for the new missal to be put into use. Now, some of the settings from MusicaSacra, I believe, are adapted from the Latin original.

For me, I find it refreshing to have a non-responsorial Gloria. It is better, in my opinion, to have this prayer sung straight-through rather than verse/refrain.

The MusicaSacra settings, I believe, are probably written in chant mode, something that perhaps some might not quite know just yet. However, chant is not very hard.

I strongly disagree with your last sentence.