New Reader/Lector at mass here, Help!

I’ve been put as a lector for next year without my knowledge (until I got the schedule in the mail) and I’m nervous because I have never done the readings before and have had no training.
I can’t contact my parish because the office is closed until February.
Are there any online resources that can prepare me?
How will I know what to say and when to go up?

There will be a book at the lectern when you go up to read. I’d recommend buying a Sunday missal so you can go over the reading before the Mass each Sunday. In the meantime here is a link with the readings: usccb.org/bible/

Many churches have their lector training document online . Just search catholic lector training. There is also a book to help with pronunciation. We were using it for bible study. They have the reading and commentary. Important for you to understand the passages you are reading. catholicfreeshipping.com/20woforlegor.html

Talk to your pastor about it this Sunday at Mass. Tell him you were mistakenly put on the list and would like to be taken off until after you receive training (or taken off, period, if you aren’t interested in reading at Mass).

And, if after training you decide that you would like to be a lector, there a wonderful book that gives detailed help for reading. Background, pronunciation help, and tips for when to pause, etc… Cost is around 12 bucks. Our parish provides one for each of our 60 lectors. I highly recommend it.

amazon.com/Workbook-Lectors-Gospel-Readers-Proclaimers/dp/161671168X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1419527564&sr=1-1&keywords=lectors+workbook

How can the parish office be closed until February? That doesn’t sound right. What would happen to sick calls, etc., if that is true.

No one should be “put on as a lector” without having first being asked if they were willing. Some people are just not suited to do this. Reading aloud in public is not easy. It needs training first.