Newbie here: question about college

Hello:tiphat: I'm a new member but have lurked awhile just never joined lol. I'm 23 and a Catholic convert (converted in 03). I would like some opinions about college.

I have been going to a small tech school taking automotive but then decided that turning my hobby into a career wasn't what I wanted to do. So I decided I want to take management (it was always my second choice) so right now I'm taking core stuff and planning on transferring. I had been trying to decide what type of management I wanted to do. And I got hired at a grocery store and really like it I really think I want to do management in a grocery store (or other retail like Lowe's but mainly grocery stores).

So this is were my question comes lol. I had been planning on going to a university to get a 4 year bachelor degree in management. But from what I see and hear with grocery stores and other retail thats not a requirement because they train from with in.

So what I'm trying to decide is if I should still go get my 4 year. Or just go to Tech and get my 2 year associates degree. Personally I would rather just go to tech and get my 2 year degree. Because the school is smaller and cheaper plus with all the talk of the big university's having cuts and all. But I want to make the smart choice so I dont sit here years down the road looking like a dummy lol. Ive talked to my parents about it and their supportive either way so its really up to me. So what do yall think?

God Bless

Dawg

A 4 year degree doesn't hurt anything. In fact, it can only help. Having said that , college isn't for everyone. I'm working on an advanced degree right now, and the more I'm in school, the more I am convinced that it is not what it's cracked up to be. Many people have natural abilites they can market and in the right job field, can go very far and make some money without a college degree.