NFP and TTC- 2 questions

If anyone could help me out, I’d really appreciate it. I’ve been charting for several months now, preparing for my upcoming marriage (wedding in 3 weeks!!). There are a couple of points that I’m not 100% sure about and I can’t find a straight answer anywhere online.

First, how exactly do you calculate how many days your cycle is? A cycle begins on Day 1 of your period and then ends…when exactly? The first day of your next cycle or the day before your next cycle starts? If I calculate my cycle ending the day before my next period, then my cycle is exactly 28 days every month. I would imagine that’s the correct way to calculate it, since the first day of your next period is the beginning of your *next *cycle…so it wouldn’t be counted as part of the last cycle as well…right?

Second question, when exactly is the fertile window? I know we can’t pinpoint it exactly but if I could get a rough picture it would really help. This is a question that I’ve googled and have come up with many, many different answers.

I use the mucous method, and chart it along with my menstrual cycles. So, I’m wondering when exactly does a person ovulate? And the fertile window is supposed to be 5 days prior to ovulating through 2 days after, correct?

I know these are silly questions, but with all the different answers online I just wanted to be sure…:blush:

Yes, you are correct that each cycle begins on the first day of your period. It ends on day before your next period starts.

As for the “fertility window”… I know you mentioned you use the mucous method, but here’s a good link regarding the sympto-thermal method:
nfpandmore.com

Specifically, in the online handbook - check out this chapter and go to page 33…
nfpandmore.com/NFP%20How%20To%20Chapter%202%20Fertility%20and%20Charting.pdf
There’s a nice graphic of the menstrual cycle.