NFP now has recognized insurance codes!

Just saw this article… hopefully this means insurance will pay for NFP classes and consultations:

catholicnews.com/data/briefs/cns/20071109.htm#head4

Oops… how did I put this in Liturgy? Meant to put it in Family.

Mods please move.

Yay!

Great. Now the couples who teach NFP are also going to have start dealing with deductibles, co-pays, becoming approved NFP-education providers for managed-care plans, and bureaucracies that would make the most irregular cycles look as regular as clockwork.

I’m sorry you are bitter. I don’t think you understand what a relief this is.

I’ve been doing NFP-creighton for my health for over 5 years.
I chose a particular insurance company (through the archdiocese that I work at) because its supposed to be unlimited visits.

I have spent about 150 phone calls (probably about 30+ hours at least) to hospital billing depts, the people at the catholic hospitals who don’t understand what NFP is and count it as contraception, then their managers, my docs office, the NFP office, the insurance company , and the benefits dept.

NO one could clearly communicate with me on what was actually going on. No one understood what NFP was. I actually quit once because I was so frustrated …I"m in the same situation for the THIRD time. I’m just about done with the whole thing.

If it was anyone that was on the fence about NFP and was just trying it, and ran into these problems. THey would quit immmediately and go to ABC.

Hooray!
I think I did some letter-writing for this a while back.
Baby steps; baby steps! :slight_smile:
The battle is still on.:thumbsup:

While I’m happy that this occured (right? this is something to be happy about?), I wonder if it’s available in other states as well…or is it just in St. Louis (I’m assuming Missouri)?

Who said I was bitter? Is irony a lost art? :crying:

[Professor Kirke mode]
What do they teach in schools these days?..
[/Professor Kirke mode]