No evidence the Apostles and Eyewitnesses were martyred

I’m studying the historical evidence for the Resurrection of Christ (Including N. T. Wright’s book) I’ve just finished watching a debate between William Lane Craig and Bart Ehrman:
youtube.com/watch?v=FhT4IENSwac
I plan on watching it again tomorrow. One the things he said that bothered me was that there was no evidence the Apostles and Eyewitnesses of the Resurrection were tortured and killed how can refute this? How can one prove that the Apostles were tortured and killed or if one the Apostles was interrogated and blurted out that Resurrection was invented by themselves or others the Romans wouldn’t ignore it but use to it to debunk Christianity

I’m not sure exactly what you are asking in the second half of your post…

But I’m pretty sure that most Christian-Biblical historians like Erhman agree that we do not know how the apostles died…that there are no ancient sources that provide reliable information on their deaths and that the details you mention are considered later, legendary stories.

This is a Catholic link which indicates how each of the apostles died. What the original sources were I don’t know.

bigccatholics.com/2012/05/how-apostles-died.html

They were all unpleasant deaths, and even John was at one stage boiled in oil, but miraculously survived to be exiled to Patmos.

The devil certainly didn’t want these witnesses to Christ’s resurrection hanging around.

Which sort of gives some indication of what hell would be like.

This is an interesting link. :thumbsup:

From Josephus, a contemporary historian, we know that James the brother of Jesus, who can be considered an Apostle, was executed by the Jewish Sanhedrin in A.D. 62. That’s about as veracious as we can get on the subject.

Even if you found it carved in stone, you couldn’t prove it to some people. It’s interesting to note that they will, however, accept without question anything written in ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs.