No young people in the parish help?

Hi i am a young person ,16 going on 17 and I just wanted to get some advice there are Young people in the parish that I can intract with becuase they come with there parents and leave straight afterwards and I would like a young person who isn’t dragged there becuase of there parents ! So I sit inbetween the old people which is okay but I’m struggling to get to known even the old people because i am new to the parish and the other parish in my area is exactly the same and I don’t know what todo becuase I go by myself and I do feel Lonley in a way, should I just stick it out and go untill I can afford to go to other parishes further afield or make do and accept there it ? Any ideas about what to do ? I know it’s about god and not all about the socialness but I am a sociable person so what do I do and I do feel at home with the church but not with any of the people ? I find it hard being young and in church.

Sorry if I’m ranting on
Love in Christ chuck

Sounds like something to bring up to your youth pastor (if your church has one), or perhaps your priest.

Hey Chuck, if your parish has an altar serving program, there are usually young people involved with that. My parish has a school where there are many young people! Bring it up to the pastor if you do not have a youth group.

Hi Chuck,
Actually, I am some years older than you and I still go to mass with my parents/family. It’s not because I’m dragged there by them, but that they like to go as a family. If you want to get to know youth in your parish, join a youth group. If you find someone that you enjoy talking to, ask them if they would like to go to mass with you sometime. Also, if you wanted to talk with someone you saw with a family (I promise, they are not always dragged by parents to be there! :)) then, politely tap one of them on the shoulder as you are exiting mass and introduce yourself.