Non-Denominational Bible Study

Hey CAF,

I’m posting to ask your advice.
My dad, a non-denominational protestant, has invited me for the first time to one of his Bible studies. I’m a college freshman, but I believe most of the people there will be older men closer to my dad’s age.
So, what should I expect?
Most importantly, as the only Catholic there, what is expected of me by the Church? Should I stick up for the true interpretation of a passage if it comes up, and if I’m able to recognize it?
Or am I overthinking this? Do you think the protestant-Catholic schism will be a real issue?
I’d like to go for my dad’s sake, but, as a final possibility, should I just refuse to go?

All help is much appreciated!

-Greg

I would go, but keep my mouth shut. If anyone asks you for input, offer it as a Catholic, but otherwise be quiet.

Some protestant groups can be overtly anti-Catholic. They will attack you on every issue from the color of Marys hair to whether or not you should kiss the Popes foot. :blackeye:

Other groups are just down-to-earth believers like you, who love the Word of God. If they present a different perspective to what you have been taught, how can that hurt?

Merry Christmas,
Cyber

“Non-denominational” is very much a denomination. It is the Evangelical branch off the Baptist (usually) Protestant. They are very doctrinal in their belief in being “born again” by accepting Jesus as your Lord and Savior, Once saved Always saved, non-regeneration of Baptism, Sola Scriptura, and their denial of Sacraments, the Priesthood and the visible Church.

Therefore you will get a particularly virulent form of Protestant bias within their Bible study. :frowning:

OTOH, it may be what is claims to be, a meeting of all sorts of denominations, and therefore more mainline Protestant. Either way you better really KNOW your Catholic Faith and your Bible if you plan on studying with them. :wink: