non-manmade music from instrument

Hi,

I have very little knowledge of music-liturgy type things. So I have to ask a question to learn.

Here’s the situation at my parish. We have one organ player. She is usually there, but there are rare times when she’s not there. When she is not there, the organ is played by some sort of electronic device that we have. Basically, the organ has electronic hookups and this thing plugs into it and you push “play” on the device and it causes the organ to play the music for the hymn you’ve selected for it to play.

But…a musically minded friend told me that this was not ordinarily allowed at Mass.

Well, today, the organ player wasn’t there. And the device messed up and the lady operating it had to turn it off at the surge protector because at the end of the song it just kept playing the last note.

It was like “duuuuuuuuuuuuuuu” until she killed the power to it!

So, can anyone direct me to any real Church documents that speak to this issue? Keep in mind, we are not playing songs from a CD through a stereo. It’s an organ making live music, but it’s not played by a person, it’s played by a software program.

Interesting question. Your situation would definitely still qualify as “recorded” or “prerecorded” music. It’s just that instead of being encoded on a CD the music is encoded in a memory system contained in the organ.

I’ve always heard that recorded music is a no-no in the liturgy, but I don’t know where this is stated.

Well our organist was not at Mass today, and we had to sing acapella. :o

I wish we had a device like the OP mentioned!

Jim

I was told by the priest that recorded music, including tracks, is not allowed in the Mass.

I don’t read GIRM and all the other litugical SOPs, so I can’t cite a source other than my dear priest.

OK, a little research turns up this, from De Musica Sacra (1958):