Nook and Kindle

Am thinking about getting one this fall. As a Language Arts teacher, I think it will be easier to keep up w/ what "popular" books my students are reading.

What do you have? Why do you like it?

I have a Nook. It’s good. I’m just not used to it. I prefer the feel of a book. It’s just more intimate for me.

I don’t have either, but here is a good video from one of my fav review sites that compares the two. It is bout 6 months old, so a bit has changed, but it will give you a good idea of the differences.

I love my Kindle! Getting new books is so easy, and the Amazon site is great. I would definitely recommend it.

I have a nook that was given to me last Christmas. I love it but haven't had the time this year or resources to buy many books for it. Someone was nice enough to put on a bunch for me. I need to figure out how to get ebooks from the library and download them.

I also love my Kindle DX.

I like the low cost of the books on Amazon. The availability and selection is sometimes not as 100% as I would wish, but it has become my preferred method of reading especially over heavy hardcover books.

I am grateful that Kindle can read PDF files on the Kindle because I sometime have to convert e-books I have in a secure or other format into PDF before I can read them on the Kindle, but it works (not for piracy). With the Kindle DX all I have to do is email the PDF to my kindle.com email address and it downloads to the reader.

I have tried many e-book devices from Palm, PDA’s, and dedicated readers like eBookwise and the inconvenience always lost me, but not Kindle. I think they finally got it right with the Kindle:)

Thanks!

After reading these and other comments, I’m leaning towards a Kindle.

My husband won an ipad in a $5 raffle. He loves it and thinks I should get one. Aside from the price, I fear I would be so distracted by all the other things it does, I’d never get around to reading books. :stuck_out_tongue: