Northern Ireland

Eden,

I don’t know if I want to go into this in depth, but I have some marginal knowledge of the subject (many friends of my family are Ulster Protestants–as a child I knew a policeman who was badly wounded in an IRA ambush and a farmer who was blown up by a bomb; my dad was temporarily detained by the British army because he had foolishly taken a picture of a military installation; I visited Ulster several times and actually leved there for several months when I was six). I did not say that religion was the cause, but it certainly plays a role. Try to tell me that Ian Paisley is not a religious figure. The problem is that we have all been taught that religion and politics are something intrinsically separate from each other, so that a conflict is either religious or political. Which is historically nonsense. The Elizabethan colonization policies were part of the global Protestant-Catholic conflict of the late 16th and early 17th centuries. Political/ethnic and religious issues simply can’t be separated with regards to Northern Ireland.

Edwin

(Contarini) People will often claim that the conflict in Ireland has “nothing to do with religion.” That’s total bunk. The conflict is not purely religious by any means, but it is indeed the last vestige of what was once a Europe-wide conflict between Protestants and Catholics.