NOSTRA AETATE Vat 2 Document

vatican.va/archive/hist_councils/ii_vatican_council/documents/vat-ii_decl_19651028_nostra-aetate_en.html
What is your take on the Vat 2 document NOSTRA AETATE, especially conerning the Jews? I am majoring in theology and right now I am taking classical Judaism. The professor seems to be pretty ignorant in Catholic teaching, but I won’t really get into that. This is one of the documents we’ve had to read and give our “opinion” on what does it mean. One thing is that she mentioned is that because of this document, any Jew who wished to convert to the Catholic Church wouldn’t really need batism because they are already the people of God. Uh:confused:
Br. JR I would especially like some feedback from you if possible. Thanks everyone!

If what she says really were the case, then I would ask why did the very first Jewish Christians of the 1st century need to be baptized?

Lol very true:thumbsup: Why didn’t I think of that? haha

Nostra Aetate didn’t, and couldn’t, undo The Council of Trent.

“If any one saith, that the sacraments of the New Law are not necessary unto salvation, but superfluous; and that, without them, or without the desire thereof, men obtain of God, through faith alone, the grace of justification;-though all (the sacraments) are not ineed necessary for every individual; let him be anathema.”

“If any one saith, that baptism is free, that is, not necessary unto salvation; let him be anathema.”

So to sum it up? Anathema sit.

Thanks for that document!

This debate is in concern of Islam and Nostra Aetate, but it might be helpful.

catholicintl.com/index.php/component/content/article/73/358

If not, its just a good debate. :stuck_out_tongue: