Not being able to take Communion is killing me

This is an exercise in patience, ain’t it?

I am dying to line up along with the rest of the faithful and receive the Eucharist, but obviously I can’t since I have not been received into the Church and I’m not sure when that will ever happen since I have not even begun an RCIA program.

So, I just kneel and pray and try to focus on the blessing, but it is killing me.

How have those of you who spent a year in RCIA dealt with that? Any advice?

I know how you feel even though I only have to wait for 3 months (because I studied theology as an atheist. weird, I know :slight_smile: ). I always feel as an outsider in that moment.

My advice would be to either take someone with you you know (gives confidence) and maybe get to talk to the other people attending so they know why you don’t line up. Thus it will feel much less awkward.

Also think of it as a special preparation for your baptism! Think of how special the Communion will be for you! People born into the church will never experience that :wink:

Thanks!

You only had to do three months because you know theology?

How do they determine if you should be fast-tracked?

Also, do most churches only receive new converts around Easter?

After three years of studying the Catholic faith…I decided to convert. It was Easter of 2007. I immediately stopped attending my episcopal church and started attending Mass…one whole year before I was received into the Church.

My dear, this will make your Faith stronger because you will forever be able to remember when you couldn’t receive.

I know the feeling, it kept me out of the Church.

The usual time to receive converts into the church is the Easter Vigil, after proper instruction, etc.

However, there are exceptions to every rule, especially in cases where a person may be near death.

Can you go a little more into that?

Thanks.

How can I without getting all emotional?