Not comfortable with planned "debate"

The priest where I am teaching wants me to debate with the Director of Religious Studies for the school in front of the 8th grade. I am to take the atheist position. She will argue Catholicism. This exercise is meant to make the 8th graders consider their faith in greater depth and to be able to defend it. I’ve expressed over and over how uncomfortable I am with this idea. Why am I so reluctant? Two reasons: 1) I think, unless I purposely tank this thing, that it’s going to make a at least a few of our 8th graders doubt their faith. 2) In meeting with the Director a number of times and having some very long conversation; I truly believe I will win this debate easily. In expressing those concerns to the priest he said: “Perhaps it would be a good thing to have our Director humbled.” I suspect I’m in the middle of some small feud between the two. How can I get out of this?

I’m not an expert, but perhaps you could say something like “I’m sorry Father, but I cannot in good faith deny Christ, not even for an academic debate.”

There’s always the simple “I’ve changed my mind.”

best wishes,
David

What makes you think you will win the debate? Is it because you think she is not prepared or qualified? Or is it that you think Catholicism is wrong?

If you think Catholicism is wrong, why are you teaching in a Catholic school. If you think Catholicism is wrong, wouldn’t that mean the Lutheranism is wrong also? Especially since they are so closely related.

If you think it is an issue about her being qualified or prepared, that really would not be within your expertise to assess now would it? You would be amazed at how many people have incorrectly assessed another persons understanding of their faith. It happens all the time, just look around these forums.