Not Sure

Hello y'all. Here I am, age thirteen. I'm sure not many thirteen year-olds want to become sisters, but my religion teacher's lectures are so moving, well to me at least. So here I am: I have a few questions to ask, don't forget the last question is a random question about this topic, but still it'll be kind of strange. Here we go:

1.How do religious sisters and nuns come up with their new name?

2.What are some good orders to consider?

3.This is the random question: How many layers are in a habit and how many pockets do they have?

You don't have to answer all the questions, just the ones you know! Thank-you!!!

God Bless Y'all,
Jessica :)

Hi Jessica! :wave:

You ask some very good questions and I’ll try to answer them as best I can. Before I get started, I’ve been discerning for over 3 years off and on and I have spent time with 3 religious orders and I am discerning with the Sister Servants of the Eternal Word in Birmingham, AL. Now for your questions!

How do religious sisters and nuns come up with their new name?

This depends on the order. Most of the time, Mother Superior has the final say in what name the religious Sister chooses. In the order I am discerning, the postulant writes down 3 names that she would like and gives them to Mother Superior. Mother can choose one of these names or choose one that is totally different. It all comes down to what the Holy Spirit wants for your name. All religious end up loving their names because it is the name that God ordained for them in religious life. If/when I become a Sister (God-willing), I hope to hand in these three choices:

Sr. Mary Elizabeth (my favorite)
Sr. Mary Catherine
Sr. Miriam Therese

Also, many religious orders add a title to the end of their name either at the beginning of the novitiate (such as my order) or at the ceremony of first vows. Such names as “of the Blessed Sacrament”, “of the Sacred Heart”, etc. add meaning and devotion to the Sister’s religious life.