Nudity in Theatre

My girlfriend is in a professional production of Dante’s Inferno, and she has been asked to go topless for the 9th circle, which is about the sin of abusing sex. She is Catholic and is morally conflicted about whether this is right or wrong. The point of the piece is to show how it is evil, and about the consequences of abusing this gift, and supposedly it’s done very tasteful and artistic way. However, it’s not modest, and not ‘her’ at all, and I guess in a selfish way it totally bothers me that she would be exposed like that in front of so many people night after night and week after week. She wants my advice, as a Catholic, but since I am also her boyfriend, I have trouble looking at this objectively. As an artist, I can see how it could be a worthy, important part to play, and how it could be permissible, but as her boyfriend, I just can’t keep an objective perspective on this. I want to support whatever she does, I just don’t know if this is really ‘wrong’ or if I’m just bothered by it because of our status. Thanks for any advice.

Pray for guidance, and you will realize you know the answer.

No, it doesn’t need to be done. There may be some artistic value in it, but that doesn’t make it right. I would say she shouldn’t do it. Abusing the sexuality of a woman, by exposing her body to someone other than her husband/doctor is not a good way to show people that you shouldn’t abuse the sexuality of a woman by having her expose her body.
I would say it is partially analogous to saying spousal abuse is bad, now watch me beat my wife so that you can see it is bad. Some people may be more encouraged in their belief that spousal abuse is horrible, but that doesn’t make me beating my wife okay.

Amen to that.

A writer requesting an actress go topless for theatrical effect leads me to the conclusion that he/she is a very unimaginative and lazy writer.

At best.