Nuns with Tattoos! :D

Hi all!
As you can see by my ticker in my sig, I will join the Church next Easter. :thumbsup:
Even now, I feel quite strongly that God is calling me to the religious life. There's one problem. In the past, I led a pretty wild life and have tattoos on my forearms and hands.
Would I have to have my tattoos removed before entering into the life of a religious? I wouldn't mind it except for the cost. I'm a poor student and don't have the money to have them removed.
Should I talk to the particular convents I am interested in (I am particularly interested in the Carmelites and the Poor Clares), or is there a hard-and-fast "no tattoos" rule I'm not aware of?
Thanks in advance for any help y'all can offer!!
:blessyou:
Amanda

I am probably not the one to reply to this post.. (I am neither a nun nor a monk) But it seems most orders examine your heart, not your skin, when you request entry into a convent..

Now adding new tattoos after your conversation may be another thing, and I really don't know how the various orders may view that situation.. Example: A novice nun were to go out and obtain a tattoo.. ??

I think there are doctors out there that will remove them for free but I’m not sure if it’s only for former gang members. I agree with the above poster. Ask the convent you are interested in.

For what it’s worth Father Don Calloway ( fathercalloway.com/ ) still has a Grateful Dead tattoo from his wild past. It’s just no visible like yours. God Bless you on your discernment.

Pax†

Amanda, a friend of mine entered the Poor Clares last year. She had a small tattoo on the top of her foot. A few weeks before entering the convent she covered it with a new and larger tattoo. She told Mother Mary Clare, who said it was fine as long as it was respectful. It was of a butterfly with a cross as the body of the butterfly.