Nursing textbooks teaching inaccuracies about Catholics

I am a nursing student, and I was looking for some nursing textbooks to compliment my studies as I had received as a gift some book vouchers.

On the shelf there were several small pocket-sized books for nursing students which were “Survival skills” for several topics - medicines, health promotion etc but one of them was about culture. I picked it up interested and flicked through and found a religion section and looked up Catholicism.

The Church of England section was quite long, detailed how it’s important they go every week, communion is symbolic, would like to be visited by a chaplain when in hospital - all well and good.

But the Catholic section? These are the two things which I remember as they stood out -

• “Catholics worship Mary, mother of God”.
  • “Communion and other sacraments are symbolic”

The section itself was small (about a third of the CofE section) and there was absolutely NO mention of the Sacrament of the Sick, NO mention it was important for Catholics to receive communion/go Mass weekly.

I emailed the publishers with a complaint and they emailed back saying they were going to forward it on to the correct people. If anyone wants the website for the books/publishers to also send an email then please let me know, not sure if they’re going to take me seriously.

Sadly I think a lot of anti-Catholic bias remains in British culture. Times may have changed since Catholicism was prohibited but I do believe the bias is still there. I also think there is a distinct sense of people trying to push Catholicism into the background because the Catholic Church refuses to bow down to social pressures like some other denominations. Admittedly we remain a minority among Christians here (8% in England and Wales, 16% in Scotland according to the 2001 census) but there’s such an obsession here at moment with ‘political correctness’.