Obedience: The Perfection of Charity

I was speaking to the parish secretary where I teach religious education and do youth ministry. She’s a very holy woman. She knows that I studied Mystical Theology and that the spiritual life of the laity and the Franciscans are my passions. She suggested that I write about obedience for the laity.

Usually, when we speak about obedience, most people think about religious. The secretary mentioned how much she learned about obedience by observing the brothers at the parish take a deep breadth when the Guardian (superior) walks in the door and says to the pastor, “Think it but done say it.”

We have four brothers at that house, one is ordained a priest and the others are lay brothers. One of the lay brothers is the Guardian. Technically, there is no pastor, because you have to be a priest to be a pastor. In this case, the only priest cannot be the pastor, since he is not the superior. Therefore, the priest is the parish administrator. This is a prime example of obedience and humility. Imagine being assigned to a parish with three of your confreres and but you cannot be installed as pastor, because you’re not the superior of the house. The degree of obedience that this requires is very special. To have your superior walk in and tell you not to express your opinion requires even greater humility. You’re given a directive and you execute it, no questions asked, no opinions, no doubts, only faith, the same faith as Christ on the cross.

I’m always reminded of something that I read in one of the Council documents on religious life, Perfectae Caritatis. Literally translated, it means the perfection of charity. But what is the perfectionof charity? I would have to say that it is obedience. There is no greater sign of love than to obey. I have often wondered if the laity (many religious and priests too), but let’s stick with the laity for now, if most lay people understand that they too are called to obey.