Obligations prior to entering a community

Hello Everyone,

New to the forums, thank you in advance for you advice and opinions. :slight_smile:

I have been praying about applying to a specific religious order for almost a year. I made a trip to visit them and really really like them, and they seemed to be very welcoming of me as well. I have one thing holding me back at the moment, and sadly it’s money:( I am a recend college graduate, and although I was awarded a very large scholarship to go, I had to take out aprox 30,000 in college loans. I have been involved in outreach and such with groups such as the Serra Club and Knights of Columbus for many years now, and they are backing me up with tons of prayer and they have mentioned that if I apply to a community they would help me raise money to pay down my dept.

Here lies my delema. Perhaps it is a false pride, but I feel guilty raising money from other people to pay down my school dept. Does anyone have any opinions, experiences or documents that I could read regarding this subject?

Thank you so much!

Well; most religious orders would like for an individual to be debt free by the time they join; although they can start the application process before then.

I do not know how student debt works in the US; but in the UK we don't have to pay it back untill we are earning a certain salary (aprox 30k USD per anum) and it is without interest.

Don't turn down help from other people; contact the Vocations Director of that order and start up the process.

A few things to think about;

1) is your family able to help you out financially?
2) why not get into regular contact with them; so the moment you are debt free you can begin your process; many orders have discernment whilst the individual still lives outside?

I try to answer questions like this by putting myself in your shoes and asking myself what I would do in your situation. This is what I would do: