Observations needing your help

From what you can tell, would you say the average Catholic sees Christianity primarily ( but not entirely) as belonging to an institution which preserves a tradition?-- A true but impoverished idea. God they see as a somewhat distant figure who the man in the pew does not know well or does not think he can at all.

This is certainly not true of most posters here . And not true of the EWTN group-- who I think see Christianity primarily as a relationship with God --a relationship aided by the Church. But it seems true of people I see at Mass.
I am new at this.
Am I wrong?

[quote=JohnCarroll]From what you can tell, would you say the average Catholic sees Christianity primarily ( but not entirely) as belonging to an institution which preserves a tradition?-- A true but impoverished idea. God they see as a somewhat distant figure who the man in the pew does not know well or does not think he can at all.

This is certainly not true of most posters here . And not true of the EWTN group-- who I think see Christianity primarily as a relationship with God --a relationship aided by the Church. But it seems true of people I see at Mass.
I am new at this.
Am I wrong?
[/quote]

How could we possibly know? Why don’t you get to know some of them well enough to ask the question – or well enough so that you don’t need to ask the question?

Why does this interest you?

John Carroll:

Whether the pew sitters you see are devout or not, is not our place to judge. We do not know what sits in their hearts and thoughts. Granted that movement and expressions reveal much of the internal, we are in no position or authority to definitively say: this dude doesn’t know God! For all we know that’s exactly how we appear to other people, unaffected and indifferent. Instead we should see that everyone who made it through the door has been called and responded. They are there to encounter God deep inside and that sometimes is not obvious.