Offertory Donation Announcement

I know that I rarely post threads like this, but I wanted to see what CAF thought about this.

I was at Mass this past Sunday in my home diocese (not the one I’m studying for), and at the beginning of the Offertory (as the altar servers start to set the altar, and the collection baskets are starting to be passed around, but before the Offertory hymn starts), there was an announcement saying that “5% of today’s collection is going to such-and-such local charity” (I can’t remember which one, but it’s not really relevant to the matter at hand). This isn’t the first time, as I heard it at Christmas too (at a different parish, but in the same city).

I was already is a bit of a down mood at this point (after the Gloria was skipped, but that’s another issue entirely. We only hear it so often, so it’s a bit sad when that happens), but this announcement made me a bit angry actually. So these are my reasons:

1. I found it plain distracting. It really sets the wrong mood in Mass for me. We’ve just finished the Liturgy of the Word where the Word has been given to us, and we’re about to be fed with Jesus himself.

2. Following number 1, it feels to me like they’re taking the focus on Christ and almost (figuratively) hi-fiving each other for their good charity. It seems too self-congragulatory and disingenuous even.

So, am I right about these feelings or am I making a mountain out of a mole-hill?

http://http://hardfluff.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/dontmakeamountainoutofamolehill2.jpg

hardfluff.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/dontmakeamountainoutofamolehill2.jpg

I would have been far more annoyed that the Gloria was omitted. I don’t have a problem with the announcement at all, although IMO announcements are best placed after the Gospel and before the homily.

Perhaps you could suggest to father the possibility of a second collection, or of collection outside after mass?:)

In the scheme of things it is small potatoes.