OK to go to SSPX?

I’m studying abroad in a place where I can only go to the SSPX for the sacraments. Is this ok?

Is she Catholic?
:cool:

Don’t take this to the bank, but my understanding is that you may go to Mass at an SSPX chapel if there is no Mass in communion with Rome available to you. However, SSPX priests cannot offer valid confession/absolution unless you are in danger of death; so, you “can” go, but it won’t have any sacramental effect and you will not be absolved of whatever sins you confess. I’m not sure about their other sacraments, though if forced to take a guess I would suspect that their baptisms are valid but illicit (hopefully you won’t be having any kids over there).

A valid SSPX Mass is far better than going to no Mass. I would just be wary not to buy into a schismatic mindset and you should be fine. Hopefully one day this will all be a moot issue.

If it’s “physically or morally impossible” for you to approach a Catholic priest (canon 844) you can receive Communion, go to confession, and be anointed by an SSPX priest. The operative word though is “impossible” so keep in mind that this is a very high standard.

If it’s physically or morally impossible for you to attend a Catholic Mass, then the obligation to attend Mass does not apply to you. Going to an SSPX Mass (whether by necessity or by choice) doesn’t fulfill the Sunday obligation, even though it is a valid Mass.

What I’m having a hard time imagining is how one could be in a place where there is an SSPX priest, but no Catholic priest. Unless you’re going somewhere very remote, it seems a bit unlikely. If you feel comfortable sharing the details, please do.

Short answer is yes, if there are no “regular” masses available.

peace
James

I know I’m going to start an argument, but here it goes.

Starting by defining some terms: