Ok to play organ for a Protestant service?

Ok, here’s a question. As an organist and pianist, I often get called to sub at Protestant services when their organist is sick or on vacation.

Is it a sin for me to play for those services? I attend Mass daily usually, so my Mass obligation is not a question. Also, I attend Mass on Saturday nights too.

Just wanted to be sure. Anyone?

Thanks!

I think it would be best to ask your priest that question. You are going to get a variety of answers from the people here.

some may view this as a way to evangelize without even saying a word because many of
those folks know where you come from.

I would say yes. It shows an ecumenical spirit if nothing else IMO.

Speak to your pastor or spiritual advisor. Or you can call the Catholic Answers main number and ask to speak with Father Serpa at 619-387-7200.

I think it really depends on the protestant community and the strength of your Faith. Are they going to know that you are Catholic and try to convert you? What will you have to say/do if people start asking you things after service? Will you be pressured into becoming part of the community and join in fellowship after service? I think there are tons of individual things that make this question complicated.

May The Lord grant you the wisdom to make the correct choice. Amen.

Do you think it would be a sin for a Catholic accountant to help them with their books? Or a Catholic landscaper to do a job for them? Or a Catholic electrician to rewire a room for them? You are being hired to perform a service, nothing more. Would anyone think it wrong if a protestant played Catholic hymns at Mass?

This^^^