Okay to give our Priest a Christmas present?

Hi - I was just wondering if it is “appropriate” to give our Priest a present. I’m new to the Catholic church & didn’t know if this would be okay.

In some countries the Christmas offering goes to the priest(s) of your parish. Also, it is customary to give the priest money and/or a gift for marrying you, so I can’t imagine that it would be wrong to do so at Christmas. Some people even give their priests Father’s Day cards and gifts :slight_smile: They ARE our fathers and we are their spiritual children!

[quote=CatholicSam] Some people even give their priests Father’s Day cards and gifts :slight_smile: They ARE our fathers and we are their spiritual children!
[/quote]

That is so cool! I actually saw some cards that were for Fathers, but I thought maybe he’d think I was strange.

From a priest-friend: “No more black socks!” ROTFL- he’s an old friend, and that’s what I theaten to get him sometime…

Me and my girlfriend are wondering that same thing right now. But not only the “can you,” but also the “what?” I mean, what do you get a priest? Starbucks gift certificates? A sweater? Golf balls? Pre-paid legal service?

Okay, okay, that last one was probably in poor taste.

We love our priests at St. Mary’s, but we have no idea what to get them.

I actually ended up getting him a Devine Mercy statue. It’s really nice - I ended up buying myself a small picture of it.

You can’t go wrong with a check :wink: But we also have given them books that we thought they would find interesting (maybe you could even get an autographed copy). I love the story about the abundant black socks :smiley: Momof3boys, the Divine Mercy statue sounds like a wonderful gift!

Although, I have not given a Christmas present to a priest, I did give a book of free car washes on another occasion. His license plate is really cool. It says GO2MASS.