Omitting the Profession of Faith

Hi all,

I’m a Catholic Candidate eagerly anticipating being welcomed into the Catholic Church at Easter. As a devout Protestant, I was pretty amazed when I discovered that I could attend daily mass at my local Catholic parish.

Because of the hours of my job (I’m a teacher) I’m only able to attend Mass, at the moment, on days when I’m not in the classroom and have only been able to go a few times so far. I’m looking forward to the summer when I’ll be able to attend daily. Praise the Lord!

My question is about what a priest may omit from the Mass.

At our parish, the daily Mass is significantly truncated and finishes in about 15 minutes. The priest omits the homily, which I understand is allowable (but not recommended) but this morning also omitted saying either of the creeds and the prayers of the faithful.

I was surprised at how quickly the Mass went, compared to a Sunday morning, and I was wondering if this is typical amongst parishes.

Thanks in advance.

Daily Mass usually has one reading, a psalm, then the Gospel. A homily is recommended but not required. Following the homily the prayers of the faithful are said. If the day is a particular feast or solemnity then you will have Mass like a Sunday (Gloria if appropriate, music, 2 readings plus the Gospel, creed). There is a book called the Ordo (Order of Prayer in the Liturgy of the Hours and the Celebration of the Eucharist) for your diocese that lists what is and is not required on a given day.

This link usccb.org/prayer-and-worship/the-mass/general-instruction-of-the-roman-missal/ might help you explore the various ways Mass is said depending on the circumstances.

The Creed is never said at daily Mass in my parish, nor are there Prayers of the Faithful. There is usually a short homily, though. The Mass lasts about 20 minutes, as Holy Communion takes about 5 minutes.

Same here. It’s fine.