On having children

Hello everyone! I’m 18 years old and am in the process of converting to Catholicism. I have seen how some Catholics have such large families, and I love it. I personally feel that God is calling me to be a husband and father to many children. However, I don’t know what the best way to go about it is. When is the right time? How much money is enough? Anyone who has a large family, I would very much appreciate your advice. Thank you all for your time and consideration.

2 Likes

You are to be commended for your heroism. Thank you for answering the call. I am just getting started with two kids so I may not be the best qualified to answer but you will soon get lots of suggestions.

I do think that if you know Catholics who have large families, you’re likely in the right place already.

2 Likes

If you want to be able to support a large family comfortably you might want to choose a career field that pays decently/provides job security/provides opportunities for advancement. Jobs in engineering, technology, business, healthcare usually provide some job security if you have a degree and the skills to advance in the field. Skilled trades can also provide a decent income. People are successful in other fields as well although there may be less demand or fewer higher paying jobs.

You still have time though and you should find something you enjoy at least a little. Just focus on developing your skills and maturing as you are young and don’t need to have it all figured out.