One Question to Ask a Group of Protestants About the Bible?

Hi all,

So I’m a long-time Protestant on a journey into the Catholic Church. I’ll enter the Church at Easter and I’m currently going through RCIA.

I write about it on my blog.

Next week, the Protestant church that my wife and I have been attending for nearly 12 years is hosting an open forum discussion about the authority of the Bible. Our closest friends and the pastor know all about my journey and have invited me to take part and be a participant in the discussion.

I obviously hold very unique views on the authority of the Scriptures compared to most of my Protestant friends, and the vast majority of the people in our church.

Rather than get too deeply involved in the discussion I feel strongly led to simply pose a question to the group and let that question work on the hearts and minds of those there—and let the Holy Spirit work in them, too.

My question for this forum is, if I can drop one “bomb” in the room, if I can ask one question in love and charity that will really get folks thinking in a new way, what do you think it should be?

Thanks in advance.

It depends a lot on what kind of Protestant group it was. Maybe “Where did the Bible come from?” or “What did Christians do before there was a Bible?” or “Why do we know what books belong in the Bible?” or “Why did Jesus create a Church rather than writing the New Testament Himself? What does that mean to us?”

I like your style! :thumbsup:

Here is the seed I would plant:

"Since we’re talking about the authority of the Bible, I think it’s fair to say that most people agree that the Bible is the pillar and foundation of the truth, right? (watch for nodd) Yet, in 1 Timothy 3:15, Paul wrote:

[INDENT]15 if I am delayed, you may know how one ought to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and bulwark of the truth.(1 Timothy 3:15)