Online game

I got involved in playing a game on my phone called Celtic Heroes. It’s a fantasy role playing game where players kill mobs and bosses to gain xp points and gear to advance in their level. Players organize into clans to coordinate their efforts.

I played pretty casually for a long time, then I started playing more seriously. I got to a high level and have a lot of good gear, but I’ve come to realize this isn’t something a person trying to grow closer to Jesus should be doing. I’ve been thinking about it and here are some problems I see with this type of game

1. It’s violent. It’s cartoony type violence, but the goal of the game is to kill mobs (regular characters in the game) and bosses (special characters who drop good gear). The fifth commandment says you shall not kill.

2. It encourages greed, amassing gold, weapons and armor (dragon sickness). The tenth commandment tells us not to covet our neighbor’s goods.

3. Players use magic, spells, potions, amulets, magic weapons etc. Sorcery and witchcraft aren’t just part of the game, they’re celebrated and glorified. Players can be mages or Druids with magic powers. One of the most powerful bosses is the Necromancer, who can raise the dead.

4. It focuses on death, with bosses like the Necromancer and the dragon Mordris. One area (the sewers) is populated with the walking dead. Other areas have ghosts and spirits or walking skeletons (the catacombs). The whole world is a dark, somber place. Jesus says God is a God of the living, not the dead. Jesus says He is the light of the world and that his followers will not walk in darkness. This game is just the opposite of that.

5. It takes up a lot of time to play at a high level. The game becomes more important than real life relationships, including your relationship with God.