Only one reading and the Gospel? Daily Mass

I’m new to daily Mass so this may be a stupid question.
Actually, my parish only offers daily Mass twice a week and I can only make it to one of these so it is more like an extra Mass a week than daily.

Here’s the question:
Last week on the Feast of the Transfiguration everything was normal meaning first reading, psalm, second reading, gospel.
Today there was only the first reading, psalm, and gospel.
Why wasn’t there a second reading?

Weekday Masses only have two readings unless it’s a Feast or Solemnity.

In the Lectionary, there is one less reading for daily Masses. It was different on the Transfiguration because it is a Feast of the Lord. (You probably also recited or sang the Gloria on that day.)

Thank you. I figured it was the simple but I wasn’t sure.
I love this forum. :slight_smile:

If you don’t have a Daily Missal to follow along with, the easy way to tell if the Mass is a Feast Day or a Solemnity is by the colour of the priest’s vestments. The normal colour for this liturgical season is green. If he is wearing white it is a Feast Day or a Solemnity. He will wear red if it is the feast day of a martyr.

When I first started going to Daily Mass this confused me a bit too haha, so don’t worry. :).

He may wear different colors if he celebrates the Memorial or even on Optional Memorial. Our pastor wore red today for Saints Pontain and Hippolytus, though that is only an Optional Memorial. We use the readings from Thursday of the 19th week, but I assume he used the other propers [prayers] from the optional mass. [Between my bad hearing, his accent, and our sound system I have little idea of what is said.]

That’s interesting. Personally I haven’t seen any priest wear any colour other than that of the liturgical season for anything but a Solemnity or Feast Day. This morning, the pastor wore green Our readings were different from those given by the USCCB for August 13. They were: Ex.3: 13-20
Ps. 105
Mt. 11: 28-30