Opinions on music? Playing Tuesday for grandfather's funeral

Hello everyone,

My name is Lauren. I’m looking for some opinions on music for my grandfather’s funeral mass.

First, I’m a professional musician. I play violin and piano and I sing. I am not familiar with all the ins and outs of the Catholic funeral mass and want to honor my grandfather with some beautiful music as my grandmother has requested.

Grandma asked for piano during the reflection. I don’t know what the church might approve, but she suggested “Be Not Afraid.” Any others?

I also thought of Schubert’s “Ave Maria” but I am getting mixed feedback from online articles of if it is allowed and I don’t know where it would come in the mass if included.

I also thought of playing Amazing Grace on my violin, maybe at the graveside.

Any suggestions on what I could offer my grandmother as options for playing and singing and answers to my questions would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Lauren

actually ,if i'm not mistaken any selection would have to be approved by the pastor.

Be not Afraid is perfect! My mother's funeral mass we had Here I am Lord (not a dry eye in the church) and to this day I cry when I hear that. On Eagles Wings. Be Not Afraid and The Celtic (something) can not remember the full name. Sorry for your loss.

Regarding Ave Maria, just a thought if it seems appropriate...

My daughter is a singer, and we have a recital CD of her singing it. My dad loved it. Since there was visitation an hour before the funeral Mass, about 20 minutes before Mass we played the recorded version. (She wasn't able to be at the funeral...she was several states away at college.)

"Be Not Afraid" is perfect for a funeral. I never particularly liked "Ave Maria" for a funeral. I think it fits better in the wedding Mass.