Oran's Posture - Priest Only!?

I read about this when it came out. I stopped doing it. Wife was furious with me about me until a State Senator ( parishioner at our church ) posted on facebook to a recently ordained Priest ( also from our Parish ).

A lot of people have read this article and no longer do this gesture at our Parish.

Do they do it at your Parish?

https://www.churchmilitant.com/news/article/hand-gestures-at-mass

About the doxology

Most of the people I see at Mass do this. I never did it. Not because of that Church Militant article but because I feel silly in that position, and it also just feels to me more like something a priest would do than something I want to do in the middle of a crowd. If I were off on a hilltop somewhere like “The Sound of Music” and I happened to throw my arms up and pray to God then it might feel natural, but not in church.

I’ve been folding my hands for 50 years and I prefer to just continue in that way.

I don’t have strong feelings one way or the other if others do it, any more than I care/ mind if they all hold hands during the Our Father, I just prefer to be left out of it.

Also, as a practical matter, if you’re at a very crowded Mass then there physically isn’t room for everybody in a row to do the Orans without bumping into each other.

I do hands folded or most of the time holding on to the pew in the front of me. I never do the Oran’s posture. I see some people do but NOPE not me.

Gee, don’t we have more important things to worry about? Are you trying to say such a gesture is a sin? Mortal or venial?

We do it at our parish and our pastor, a priest from Ghana, sometimes tells us to do it. I am OK with it. Having just attended a couple of Masses in India and seen what goes on there, I am not going to worry about this at all.

Now you’ve got me curious. What do they do at Mass in India?

If the rubrics of the Mass specify that only the priest is to use Orans posture than I am not going to use it.