Orthodox teaching on Purgatory, or, lack thereof...

I am currently studying the Orthodox faith. I find that its spirituality and teachings give me clarity, and are rich in meaning.

I hope some of you can help to clarify some difficulties I am having in understanding the teachings. I will try to post them one at a time.

1. It appears that the Orthodox reject the concept of Purgatory, particularly the atonement portion of the moments of the afterlife. Instead, we are instantly judged, and go to our repose, aware of our final destiny, awaiting the Last Day. It is then that we will receive either our crown of glory and presence of God, or, be cast away.

Since most of us are not perfect when we die, but, some of us do possess Sanctifying Grace, what method is supposed to purify us? Or, must the wedding garment be spotless, else we’re toast?

I’m not Orthodox, but I’m aware of their internal “aerial toll-houses” controversy, the idea that our souls after death go through a purgative waiting period, while being carried upwards by angels. It’s based upon St. Cyril of Alexandria’s “Homily on the Departure of the Soul,” and even amongst believers in the doctrine, there are lots of disputes as to how it should be understood.

Here’s an article in favor of it (orthodoxinfo.com/death/tollhouse_pomaz.aspx) and one opposed (orthodoxytoday.org/articles-2009/Mettalinos-Paradise-And-Hell-According-To-Orthodox-Tradition.php), both from Orthodox writers. The important thing to note is that Orthodoxy doesn’t have a position one way or the other, officially, and faithful on both sides disagree, sometimes quite vehemently.