Our Lady of Grace

Hi all!

I’m very new to learning about Catholicism, so bear with me. :o
Who (or what) is Our Lady of Grace. Obviously it’s the Blessed Virgin, that’s not my question. I tried googling it to find the answer, and I don’t feel like going through hundreds of pages of schools and parishes with the title. I really love the image of it (see sig pic!) but I guess I don’t know if she has a particular purpose or came out of an event that occurred or what.
I always find that I am comforted when I see her image, so it might be nice to know more about it! :slight_smile:

I think the title ‘Our Lady of Grace’ is a popular, albeit incorrect, synonym for ‘Mediatrix of all graces’. The title of Mediatrix was used by Catholics for Mary long before it became a well known title, and Mary herself was known to use it when speaking to certain saints, encouraging them to ask for the intercession of the Mediatrix that they might obtain every grace from God. The title “Our Lady” is generally reserved for approved apparitions, and I think that’s why you’re asking about whether or not the title Our Lady of Grace is attached to an apparition. Nevertheless, here is what the Church teaches on Mary Mediatrix:

Christ the one Mediator: Position of the Saints and Especially of Mary