our parish priest refuses communion in the tongue...

hello… this is my first time to post in this forum… i’m jayson from the philippines…

just recently, our parish priest announced that he won’t give communion in the tongue because doesn’t want our lips or teeth touch his hand…

i have a strong personal conviction to receive communion in the tongue only… it’s almost like an oath for me… is it ok to go to mass at a different parish just for the reason that i can receive communion from a priest through my tongue?

:slight_smile:

“is it ok to go to mass at a different parish just for the reason that i can receive communion from a priest through my tongue?”

Not only ok but I’d run there as quickly as possible.

1 Like

Yes do whatever makes you happy!:thumbsup:

You may go to a different parish for any reason you like. It’s OK.

You might talk to this priest, first, though. This may be a temporary measure meant to keep from spreading some local epidemic or pandemic. In that case, you may be willing to re-think how important it is to you to exercise your right to receive on the tongue. Having said that, you may also remind your pastor–all due respect being assumed–that reception on the tongue is your right, as per the Instruction Redemptionis Sacramentum. He has no authority to deny you that right, nor to even imply that he has that authority, but may only ask you and others under his care to voluntarily receive in the hand because you discern his reasons to be compelling.

In any event, charity may compel you to agree to his request (or it may not, I’m not arguing that point, because I don’t know the gravity of his reasoning), but canon law will not. The law is on your side:
vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/ccdds/documents/rc_con_ccdds_doc_20040423_redemptionis-sacramentum_en.html