Overwhelmed by religion

Has anyone just been totally overwhelmed?
Here is my scenario. I graduated from a catholic university. Thought I was well read in philosophy and even different religion traditions.

I even go to protestant services with my mom ocassionally just because she is elderly, and I wanted to do “family” stuff with her.

I have protestant friends. I ussually avoid conversations about religion.

But recently I have another family member who is head over heals a protestant( I wont name the denomination)

Anyway , untill you see such a person upclose. I mean all of their evangelism. All of their judgements. You really have not experienced protestantism

I feel I am on trial by “Martin Luther”, even though this family member has no background in theology. It seems they are well versed in all anti-catholic stuff. I am not a religion major. I do not want to debate pre-trib, post-trib.

Anyway , I find myself tuning into TV preachers , just to listen. I used to respectfully turn the channel. But it seems to catch my interest ,just to find out what my family member thinks.
The reason why I care is because these are family members, I can no longer relate to.

It seems everything turns to religion with these family members. I used to be able to watch football with this family member. Now it turns to TEBOW-mania.
I dont follow politics, but every conversation turns to one political party or political issue. It has gone to far when I need to hear sermons about “gun rights that are in jeopardy”

Anyway, I have started to read alot about catholic history, and apologetics just to keep my own sanity. I refuse to get into debates about religion.

Keep reading and learning about your faith. There’s lots of room for questions–but always remember not to stop with the questioning, but to seek the answers.

Is there a particular issue regarding Catholicism that you are having trouble embracing?

Yes I did have a few questions that are troubling.